The Depression Seems to be Lifting….. a Time to be Grateful

Slowly the dark cloud is lifting.
I feel lighter
Brighter
The sun was shining today
And I bothered to look
And I cared that it was sunny.

Wow.
This is the beginning
Of the way up and out
I really hope
This is it….
That life can go back
To some sort of normality.

This time it was bad
Like
Really bad
And lasted long
Far too long
At least a number of weeks
Maybe even months.

I don’t want to check
Or look it up
But it’s been a long time
And I have been waiting
For this day
For this moment
When the sun shines again
And I notice it.

This afternoon
I realised
I felt better
Than I had for a while
And then I stood and thought
And realised
I felt different
Better
More like me
The real me
And the world seems
A brighter place
A more colourful place
To be in…..

I chatted to my son for
2 hours last night
And that was a sign to me
That I was on the up
And today my oldest son
Said I seem to be
Happier
Look more like me
Not white faced
Ghost like in appearance
And I seem to be
Lighter
Not bogged down with
Pain and
Sadness
And worry too.

I’m so grateful to anyone
Who helped me
Come through the dark days
The painful times.

Thank you for being there
For me
At my side
And for caring
When I had lost the will
To even care.

To my closest friends
Who looked out for me
And made sure
I was okay
I was safe
I can never thank you
Enough.

It’s because of you guys
That I’m at this point now
And I’m so grateful
To you
For your friendship
Your love
Your care
And deep concern.

We have become like
One family
Each looking out for
The other one
Making sure
We are ok.
Helping us out
During the bleak days
And rejoicing
When we come back….

Thank you
For not judging me
For being there
For just being….
You…..

I don’t honestly know
Where I would be
How I would be now
Without such a supportive
Group of friends.

I love you
And am so proud to
Be your friend…..

Thank u for accepting me
Just the way
I am……

One thought on “The Depression Seems to be Lifting….. a Time to be Grateful

Leave a comment